WBRC is the oldest bowling club in the Illawarra, established in 1894. The original clubhouse was a 3m x 3.7m shed! By 1898 with a membership of 21 bowlers, the club purchased a piece of land, constructed a green and erected a weatherboard building known in those early years as the “Pavilion”.
Alterations and expansions continued throughout the years as finances allowed. In 1940 a loan of 800 pounds was raised from members for the purpose of demolishing the 1898 pavilion and erection of a modern (for the times) brick clubhouse.
In 1964, the 70th anniversary of the club, further additions to the existing clubhouse were completed at a cost of 18 000 pounds. Further extensions were completed in 1977. Dining room alterations were completed in 1990.
1938 saw the formation of the Woonona Women’s Bowling Club, the first on the South Coast, with a membership of 5! In 1939 the club affiliated with the NSW Women’s Bowling Association.
The clubhouse displays a range of Honour Boards and trophies which celebrate its men’s and ladies bowler’s rich history.